Windows 10 has a month period after you upgrade to Windows 10 where you’ll be able to go back to your previous version of Windows OS.
To go back, you’ll need to:
- Keep everything in the Windows.old and $Windows.~bt folders after the upgrade.
- Remove any user accounts you added after the upgrade.
- Know the password you used to sign in to Windows 7 or Windows 8.1 (if you used one).
- Have the USB drive you used to upgrade to Windows 10 (if you used one).
If it has been less than a month since you upgraded to Windows 10, you can go back to your previous version of Windows OS you upgraded to Windows 10 OS by going to Start Menu –> Settings –> Update & security –> Recovery and selecting Get started button at either Go back to Windows 7 or Go back to Windows 8.1 section.
This won’t affect your personal files, but it will remove any apps you installed after the upgrade to Windows 10.
If it has been more than a month, this option won’t be available in Settings.
Note If you go back to Windows 8.1, some apps that came with Windows, like Mail and People, might not work anymore. To fix them, reinstall them from the Store.